July 25, 2022
At one time or another, many of us who have followed a paleo diet have asked ourselves, “is Paleo gluten-free?”
A quick search answers it with a YES! And yet, there’s more to Paleo than just gluten-free, and this post will simplify the answer for you.
Is the Paleo Diet Gluten-Free?
The paleo diet is naturally free of gluten, meaning none of the foods on the list of “paleo” foods will contain gluten.
So, in short, yes, the paleo diet is 100% gluten-free.
BUT rice and oats are also gluten-free, and they are not part of a Paleo diet. Keep reading.
Are Gluten-Free and Paleo the Same Thing?
The terms gluten-free and Paleo are not the same, although you may hear them being talked about in conjunction.
Gluten-free refers to foods that do not contain gluten. A paleo diet, while gluten-free, is also grain-free.
The paleo diet really focuses on getting back to the food that our ancestors used to eat, which means they ate no grains, since grains have to be harvested and processed and are outside the Paleolithic era.
Eating gluten-free means that you’re solely focused on finding foods (processed or not) that don’t have gluten. Eating Paleo means you don’t eat any grains at all, including refined foods (such as sugars).
Similarities and Differences Between Gluten-Free and Paleo Diets
While eating gluten-free and Paleo have some things in common, they are two very different eating styles.
What they share is that none of the foods contain gluten (a protein in wheat and grains). But that’s where the similarities stop.
A paleo diet does not contain any processed foods, meaning there are no gluten-free grains or bread, no processed foods such as refined sugars, and very limited beans/legumes since these have to be processed too.
Eating gluten-free is easy to do nowadays by simply looking at the nutrition labels and packaging on your foods. Plus, all fruits and vegetables are naturally free of gluten, so you’ll always have that option.
Following a paleo diet can be a bit more overwhelming for some people, given that it takes gluten-free to the next level and has a few more dietary restrictions.
If you want to eat paleo – with your family – without feeling overwhelmed, check out my 30-Day Family KickStart Program. It’s everything you need to eat Paleo for a full month, kids included! Learn more here.
Is Paleo Grain-Free
In addition to being free of gluten-containing foods, which are grain-derived, Paleo is 100% grain-free. Foods like oats, rice, and corn, which are also free of gluten, are not allowed in a Paleo diet since they are all grains.
Is All Gluten-Free Bread Paleo?
Storebought glute-free breads are not all paleo. Most contain other gluten-free grains like rice or oats milled into flour to make the loaf of bread.
Paleo bread is typically made with nuts, usually cashews, walnuts, or almonds, and is difficult to find in many traditional groceries. Some specialty healthy stores carry them in the freezer aisle.
The good news is that making gluten-free paleo bread is easy and you can make it at home with a blender!
Below is a gluten-free paleo bread that hits all the marks! Great flavor, great taste, and the perfect way to stay paleo AND gluten-free!
Gluten-Free Paleo Bread
- 5 large eggs
- 2 cups cashews
- 2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
- 2 tablespoons coconut flour
- 1 teaspoon baking soda
- ¼ teaspoon salt
- 1 tablespoon honey
- 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
- Preheat oven 350F. Grease a 7×3 inch loaf pan.
- In a high-speed blender, place the eggs, cashews, coconut oil, coconut flour, baking soda, salt, and honey.
- Blend for about 45 seconds to 1 minute. until you have a smooth, thick batter.
- Add apple cider vinegar, blend to combine (about 10 seconds) and immediately transfer to the greased pan.
- Bake for 45 minutes. After 25 minutes, open the oven to cover with foil to prevent the top from burning. Continue to bake until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the middle.
- Remove from oven and cool prior to removing from pan. Store wrapped in the fridge for up to 5 days.